Congratulations to the 2022 Eagle Award recipients!

Meet the 2022 Eagle Award Recipients

2022 International Eagle Award Recipient

Anya Bailey Randle, SFO
Chief Financial Officer
Assumption Parish Schools
Napoleonville, Louisiana

Faced with the challenges of limited revenues in her rural district, Anya Bailey Randle implemented a program to restructure the district's investment portfolio, which allowed earnings income to increase on average $425,000 per year and overhauled outdated spending mechanisms by nearly $2 million per year to which the district now braids funding to collaboratively prioritize initiatives. As a result, the district has its most significant fund balance ever—more than $23 million.

A self-described servant leader with a vision of building the next generation of school business leaders, Randle established the Aspiring Leaders of LASBO (ALL) Institute to provide leadership and performance training for more than 120 future school business leaders.

2022 Distinguished Eagle Award Recipients

Christina P. Berta, MBA, SFO
Assistant Superintendent of Business and Operations
Hanover County Public Schools
Ashland, Virginia

Although she started her position with Hanover County Public Schools amid the pandemic, Christina Berta leveraged her relationship-building skills and her range of experience across the Commonwealth of Virginia to successfully address dozens of bus driver vacancies, new USDA regulations for meal service, a one-to-one computing initiative, and the district's first new school construction in 15 years.

Berta stresses the importance of presenting facts and accurate information to build and establish trust and open dialogue, and always making decisions with a focus on preparing students to be successful in their future endeavors.

Channa Byerly, PhD
Duncan Public Schools
Duncan, Oklahoma

Channa Byerly believes it's her responsibility not only to be the highest-quality school business official for her district, but to give back to the profession and mentor others as well. Active with ASBO International and Oklahoma ASBO, she has mentored new school business leaders, presented at professional conferences, and chaired various committees.

Within her district, Byerly built trust by educating stakeholders on where the district was sitting financially in some of the most challenging economic times. She has a passion for taking complex subjects and breaking them down to help everyone understand—a skill that has helped the community recognize that the focus is always on the students.

Cindy M. Reilmann, CPA, SFO
Director of Finance
Francis Howell R-III School District
St. Charles, Missouri

Engagement is the hallmark of Cindy Reilmann's 20-year school business career. Recognizing that school business means more than managing the district's finances, she stepped into the role of helping coordinate transportation, food services, and communication to ensure student services during the pandemic.

Reilmann has also invested many years as a servant leader with ASBO International and Missouri ASBO, promoting professional development by chairing and serving on committees, presenting at conferences, contributing to association publications, and encouraging fellow school business officials to tell their story at the state and national levels.

View past Eagle Award Recipients